Exclusive interwiew with Margaret Peterson Haddix

24-02-2012 13:43

 

THE CONTENT PRESENT IN THIS ARTICLE IT'S MUNDO DO MAX'S PROPERTY. IT'S EXTREMELLY PROHIBITED THE REPRODUCTION OF THE SAME IN OTHER WEBSITES WITHOUT CONTACT US. CONTACT E-MAIL: caioxrebolox@yahoo.com.br

Margaret Peterson Haddix is an internationally renowned author, known by the Brazilian public by the book Into The Gauntlet, which ends the series The 39 Clues. We had the amazing opportunity to interviewing her, and she talked about her experience in 39 Clues and about his plans with regard to Brazil, among other issues. Check out our exclusive interview here:

Mundo do Max: Well, you've become famous in Brazil by Into The Gauntlet, the book you wrote for The 39 Clues series. So, how was for you finish a series which many other authors had wrote for? And how did you seven divide the story?

Margaret Peterson Haddix: It was an interesting challenge to write the book finishing the clue hunt in the 39 Clues series. The hardest part was that, because of the tight deadlines, the seventh, eighth and ninth books weren’t completely finished at the time that I needed to start writing my book. Fortunately, we were working from a pretty strong outline to begin with, and the editor was very helpful in terms of making sure that everything worked out. There were also times when I exchanged e-mails with the author of the ninth book, Linda Sue Park, to determine what she intended to deal with in her book and what would be left for me to resolve. It was very lucky that the issues that I really wanted to write about almost always turned out to be the ones she wanted to avoid, and vice versa!
 
Mundo do Max: You don't have published any books in Brazil beyond Into The Gauntlet. Do you have the intention to publish other of your books here?
Margaret Peterson Haddix: Yes, and actually that will be happening very soon! I have two series that have been (or are being) published in the United States, which will soon be coming out in Brazil as well. The first is called the Missing series, and the first four books (out of a planned seven) will be coming out in October, November and December of this year and then January 2013. The second series, which is called The Shadow Children series, will be available beginning sometime in 2013.
 
Mundo do Max: Which books most influenced your stories?
Margaret Peterson Haddix: I would say that pretty much every book I’ve ever read has influenced my writing. When I really like a book, I think, “How could I write this well?” And when I don’t like a book, I think, “How can I make sure that my books don’t turn out like this?”
 
Mundo do Max: Have you ever read a brazilian book, or heard about one?
Margaret Peterson Haddix: I can’t think of any books that I’ve read by a Brazilian author. But I have read books by authors of other nationalities where part of the book is set in Brazil, and I have enjoyed those. I would like to visit Brazil someday, so I have appreciated getting to know at least a little about it.
 
Mundo do Max: As we know, new authors frequently face difficulties to publish the first book. Can you give them a council about it?
Margaret Peterson Haddix: That is true—it is a hard profession to break into. I would advise authors to be persistent, and keep trying. I would also suggest working as hard as you can to make sure that the book that you are trying to publish is written as well as you’re capable of making it, before you start trying to get it published. Good luck!
 
Mundo do Max: To finish our interview, let here a message for you brazilian fans.
Margaret Peterson Haddix: Keep reading—and keep enjoying what you read!
And that was the interview. Keep visiting our website for more exclusive articles like this.
 
_____________________________________________________________________